clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drew Timme Wins Karl Malone Award

The Gonzaga sophomore is the best power forward in college hoops.

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-USC vs Gonzaga Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

Gonzaga Bulldogs sophomore “forward” Drew Timme has been named the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year. He is the first Gonzaga player to win the award.

Timme has been an anchor in the post this season, averaging 19 points off a ridiculous 65 shooting percentage from the floor. He has been an absolute machine during the NCAA Tournament, peaking with a 30 point performance against the Oklahoma Sooners in the second round.

The only surprise about Timme taking home this award is the positional limitations they suggest. As the lone true big man with meaningful playing minutes, Timme most definitely operates more as a center. That doesn’t change the fact that he is one of the best big men in the country—Karl Malone Award of Kareem Abdul Jabbar Award.

Timme is the first Gonzaga player to win the Karl Malone Award, and the second Zag to win a Hoophall positional award, following in Corey Kispert’s footsteps.