clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zags Clean House on All-WCC Honors

Almost, just almost, the full sweep.

NCAA Basketball: Santa Clara at Gonzaga James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

As expected, the Gonzaga Bulldogs took the majority of the All-WCC honors, claiming four out of the five individual honors and placing the most players on the First Team.

With the first undefeated regular season in program history complete and Gonzaga currently in line for the top overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, Corey Kispert was named Player of the Year, Mark Few won Coach of the Year, Jalen Suggs arrived to Newcomer of the Year, and Andrew Nembhard was respected with Sixth Man of the Year. The only award the Zags did not win was Defensive Player of the Year, which went to BYU’s Matt Haarms.

In addition, Joel Ayayi, Drew Timme, and Oumar Ballo joined the party, earning First Team and Freshman Team honors, respectively.

Here are the list of complete conference awards:

2020-21 All-WCC Men’s Basketball First Team

  • Joel Ayayi, Gonzaga
  • Alex Barcello, BYU
  • Jamaree Bouyea, San Francisco
  • Kessler Edwards, Pepperdine
  • Corey Kispert, Gonzaga
  • Colbey Ross, Pepperdine
  • Eli Scott, LMU
  • Jalen Suggs, Gonzaga
  • Drew Timme, Gonzaga
  • Josip Vrankic, Santa Clara

2020-21 All-WCC Men’s Basketball Second Team

  • Brandon Averette, BYU
  • Matt Haarms, BYU
  • Logan Johnson, Saint Mary’s
  • Andrew Nembhard, Gonzaga
  • Khalil Shabazz, San Francisco

2020-21 All-WCC Men’s Basketball Freshman Team

  • Jalin Anderson, LMU
  • Oumar Ballo, Gonzaga
  • Caleb Lohner, BYU
  • Mitchell Saxen, Saint Mary’s
  • Jalen Suggs, Gonzaga

2020-21 WCC Men’s Basketball Honorable Mention Selections

  • Ahmed Ali, Portland
  • Jeremiah Bailey, Pacific
  • Joey Calcaterra, San Diego
  • Dameane Douglas, LMU
  • Daniss Jenkins, Pacific
  • Keli Leaupepe, LMU
  • Dzmitry Ryuny, San Francisco
  • Jalen Williams, Santa Clara