clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rui Hachimura invited to Nike Basketball Academy

He is one of 25 college players to receive an invitation to the prestigious camp

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Second Round-Ohio State vs Gonzaga Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Gonzaga Bulldogs forward Rui Hachimura will be participating in the 2018 Nike Basketball Academy on Sunday, in Los Angeles, California. He is one of 25 collegiate players to receive an invitation to the prestigious development camp.

The Nike Basketball Academy is a skills camp that allows players to train with former and current NBA players in off-court workourts, drills, film sessions, and 5-on-5 competition.

The academy began in 2015, and previous Gonzaga stars Kyle Wiltjer and Domantas Sabonis have both attended. In total, nearly 60 of the nation’s best college and high school players are invited to the camp.

The development of Hachimura is one of the big reasons the Zags are entering one the season hyped as one of the top teams in college. Hachimura averaged 11.6 points and 4.7 rebounds per game in just 20.7 minutes last season. His offseason has been a fun ride already, with Hachimura partaking in the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers, where he helped pull a huge upset of a Matthew Dellavedova led Australian team.

Here is the list of all college players invited to the academy:

  • Nickeil Alexander-Walker (VT)
  • Bol Bol (Oregon)
  • Oshae Brissett (Syracuse)
  • Tyler Cook (Iowa)
  • Daejon Davis (Stanford)
  • Carsen Edwards (Purdue)
  • Daniel Gafford (Arkansas)
  • Kellan Grady (Davidson)
  • Rui Hachimura (Gonzaga)
  • Jaylen Hoard (Wake Forest)
  • DeAndre Hunter (Virginia)
  • Herbert Jones (Alabama)
  • Cody Martin (Nevada)
  • Jalen McDaniels (San Diego St)
  • Matthew Morgan (Cornell)
  • Tanor Ngom (Ryerson)
  • Jaylen Nowell (Washington)
  • Eric Paschall (Villanova)
  • John Petty (Alabama)
  • Kevin Porter Jr. (USC)
  • Lamar Stevens (Penn St)
  • Max Strus (DePaul)
  • Matisse Thybulle (Washington)
  • Lindell Wigginton (Iowa St)
  • Kenny Wooten (Oregon)