clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mark Few named WCC Coach of the Year; Multiple Zags win honors

Zach Norvell was named Newcomer of the Year

NCAA Basketball: Gonzaga at Brigham Young Rob Gray-USA TODAY Sports

Mark Few was named the WCC Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year, his 12th honor. He was joined by Zach Norvell, who was named Newcomer of the Year, in the individual honors.

Rui Hachimura, Josh Perkins, and Johnathan Williams notched First-Team All-WCC honors. Killian Tillie was named to the Second-Team, and Silas Melson was listed as a honorable mention. Norvell was also named to the WCC All-Freshman team. It was the second first-team honor for Williams since transferring to Gonzaga two years ago.

Predictably, Jock Landale from Saint Mary’s won the Player of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year went to Namdi Okonkwo, from Pacific. Okonwko led the conference with 2.6 blocks per game.

Here are the full teams:


  • Elijah Bryant, BYU
  • Yoeli Childs, BYU
  • KJ Feagin, Santa Clara
  • Frankie Ferrari, San Francisco
  • Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga
  • Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s
  • Emmett Naar, Saint Mary’s
  • Josh Perkins, Gonzaga
  • Isaiah Pineiro, San Diego
  • Johnathan Williams, Gonzaga


  • James Batemon, LMU
  • Calvin Hermanson, Saint Mary’s
  • Killian Tillie, Gonzaga
  • Jahlil Tripp, Pacific
  • Isaiah Wright, San Diego


  • Souley Boum, San Francisco
  • Zach Norvell, Gonzaga
  • Colbey Ross, Pepperdine
  • Eli Scott, LMU
  • Marcus Shaver, Portland

Honorable Selections

  • Olin Carter III, San Diego
  • Roberto Galliant, Pacific
  • TJ Haws, BYU
  • Silas Melson, Gonzaga
  • Zach Norvell, Gonzaga
  • Miles Reynolds, Pacific
  • Colbey Ross, Pepperdine
  • Marcus Shaver, Portland