clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason List Announced

Hachimura and Clarke Listed on Talented Lineup

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the best player in the nation and Gonzaga has two nominees. Two members of Gonzaga’s frontcourt, Rui Hachimura and Brandon Clarke, are considered the best in college basketball this season. The 20 players on the list were chosen by members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Nickeil Alexander-Walker - Virginia Tech

R.J. Barrett - Duke

Bol Bol - Oregon

Ignas Brazdeikis - Michigan

Jordan Caroline - Nevada

Brandon Clarke - Gonzaga

Jarrett Culver - Texas Tech

Mike Daum - South Dakota State

Carson Edwards - Purdue

Rui Hachimura - Gonzaga

Ethan Happ - Wisconsin

Markus Howard - Marquette

De’Andre Hunter - Virginia

Dedric Lawson - Kansas

Caleb Martin - Nevada

C.J. Massinburg - Buffalo

Luke Maye - North Carolina

Shamorie Ponds - St. John’s

Grant Williams - Tennessee

Zion Williamson - Duke

Gonzaga, Duke, and Nevada are the only teams in the nation that have more than one player on this list. The Bulldogs have faced off against four players named on this list this season (Williams, Williamson, Barrett, Maye). If I had to make a prediction on who will win this award by the end of the season, my top two choices would be Zion Williamson and Ethan Happ.

*Arden Cravalho is a senior at Gonzaga University... Follow him on Twitter @a_cravalho