clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Wiltjer and Domantas Sabonis named to All-WCC First Team

Eric McClellan and Josh Perkins also picked up pieces of hardware.

James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle Wiltjer and Domantas Sabonis were named to the 2015-16 All-WCC Men's Basketball First team. Eric McClellan was also named the WCC Defensive Player of the Year.

To close out the awards ceremony, Josh Perkins was named to the All-WCC Freshman team.

Gonzaga tends to dominate these awards, but this year was just not the year for it. The WCC Player of the Year went to Kyle Collinsworth of BYU, for obvious reasons. Junior guard Joe Rahon of Saint Mary's was named the Newcomer of the Year. Randy Bennett was named Coach of the Year.

All four individual awards and the teams are voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

McClellan is the sixth Gonzaga player to be awarded Defensive Player of the Year since its debut in 1998-99. He is the second-consecutive Gonzaga player to win the award, following Gary Bell Jr. last season.

Here is the rest of the All-WCC First Team.

Jared Brownridge Jr Santa Clara
Kyle Collinsworth Sr BYU
Stacy Davis Sr Pepperdine
Chase Fischer Sr BYU
Emmett Naar So Saint Mary's
Joe Rahon Jr Saint Mary;s
Domantas Sabonis So Gonzaga
Devin Watson So San Francisco
Kyle Wiltjer Sr Gonzaga
Alec Wintering Jr Portland

And here is the All-WCC Second Team.

Tim Derksen Sr San Francisco
Nick Emery Fr BYU
Adom Jacko Jr Loyola Marymount
Lamond Murray Jr Jr Pepperdine
Bryce Pressley Sr Portland

And finally, the All-WCC Freshman Team.

Kameron Edwards F Pepperdine
Nick Emery G BYU
KJ Feagin G Santa Clara
Evan Fitzner C Saint Mary's
Josh Perkins G Gonzaga