clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kevin Pangos and Kyle Wiltjer are still in the hunt for the Naismith Trophy

The Gonzaga duo made it through the cut and are representing the WCC in a big way.

Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Both Kevin Pangos and Kyle Wiltjer survived another round of cuts in their individual hunts for the Naismith Trophy after the semifinalists were revealed on Wednesday.

The Gonzaga Bulldogs' stars gave the WCC just as many nominees as the Big 10 and the ACC, and are the made sure Gonzaga was the only school with two nominees. The four finalists will be announced on March 22 and the 2015 Naismith Trophy Award will be announced on April 5.

It is a huge honor for the two Bulldogs, but also each player has a massive hill to climb in their pursuit of the crown. Most national writers have bounced between Frank Kaminsky and Jahlil Okafor as the potenital winner. Occasionally another name creeps into the mix, but either Pangos or Wiltjer would need an NCAA run of the ages to capture the crown.

Here is the full list of the semifinalists.

player school class conference
Willie Cauley-Stein Kentucky Jr SEC
Jerian Grant Notre Dame Sr ACC
Frank Kaminsky Wisconsin Sr Big 10
Jahlil Okafor Duke Fr ACC
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga Sr WCC
Cameron Payne Murray State So Ohio Valley
D'Angelo Russell Ohio State Fr Big 10
Seth Tuttle Northern Iowa Sr MVC
Kyle Wiltjer Gonzaga Jr WCC
Delon Wright Utah Sr Pac 12