clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gonzaga sweeps West Coast Conference awards

Kevin Pangos was named the WCC Player of the Year and Kyle Wiltjer was named the WCC Newcomer of the Year.

James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

The Gonzaga Bulldogs took home all the accolades as the West Coast Conference awards were announced on Tuesday. Among the highlights were Kevin Pangos taking home the Player of the Year award and Mark Few winning his tenth Coach of the Year honors.

This year it has been all Gonzaga all the time in the WCC and the awards reflected that. The Bulldogs gathered up every major award and had a total of six players land throughout the 2014-15 All-WCC first and second teams.

Pangos is the sixth Bulldogs to win the WCC Player of the Year in the last 10 seasons and the 14th Gonzaga player to win it overall. He is the fifth player in league history to earn four All-WCC first team honors, joining fellow Gonzaga alum Blake Stepp as the two Gonzaga players to accomplish the fest.

Gary Bell Jr. took home the Defensive Player of the Year award and is the fifth Gonzaga player to scoop up that honor. Kyle Wiltjer rounded out the rest of the major awards by capturing the WCC Newcomer of the Year award -- an award that Pangos won his freshman year in 2011-12.

Here are the rest of the awards.

All-WCC First Team

Jared Brownridge So Santa Clara
Kerry Carter Sr Saint Mary's
Kyle Collinsworth Jr BYU
Stacy Davis Jr Pepperdine
Johnny Dee Sr San Diego
Tyler Haws Sr BYU
Przemek Karnowski Jr Gonzaga
Kevin Pangos Sr Gonzaga
Brad Waldow Sr Saint Mary's
Kyle Wiltjer Jr Gonzaga

All-WCC Second Team

Gary Bell Jr Sr Gonzaga
Domantas Sabonis Fr Gonzaga
Mark Tollefsen Jr San Francisco
Byron Wesley Sr Gonzaga
Alec Wintering So Portland

All-WCC Freshman Team

Matt Hubbard Fr Santa Clara
Emmett Naar Fr Saint Mary's
Shawn Olden Fr Pepperdine
Domantas Sabonis Fr Gonzaga
Devin Watson Fr San Francisco

Honorable Mentions: Christopher Anderson, San Diego; Kevin Bailey, Portland; Aaron Bright, Saint Mary's; Brandon Clark, Santa Clara; Jett Raines, Pepperdine; Thomas van der Mars, Portland; T.J. Wallace, Pacific; Anson Winder, BYU